Los Angeles Underage DUI Lawyers
Thousands of Cases Handled Successfully
It is illegal in California for a person under the age of 21 to drink or purchase alcohol. Zero Tolerance Laws have also been enacted to deter minors from driving after drinking alcohol. These laws can be much harsher than the laws for adults. A minor's blood alcohol content (BAC) only needs to measure above .01 percent to result in DUI charges. Individuals can hit this fairly quickly—drinking just a glass of wine or a can of beer could pass that mark, possibly reaching a BAC reading of .05 percent. If you were charged with this offense, call the Los Angeles and Orange County underage DUI lawyers at Gibbons & Gibbons right away.
Penalties for Underage DUI
In addition to DUI, there may be other charges related to the underage drinking, such as child endangerment law violations for enabling alcohol consumption for other minors.
Penalties for the first offense of an underage DUI include:
- Jail sentence of 4 days to 6 months
- Fines ranging between $1,400 and $2,600
- License suspension of 30 days to 10 months
- Misdemeanor charge for possession of fake ID (if one was used to purchase alcohol)
- Other traffic violation charges
- Raised insurance premiums
If a driver under the age of 18 is convicted of a DUI, their license could be suspended for 1 year or until their 18th birthday. A first DUI offense is typically considered a misdemeanor, meaning the driver could face further penalties from their school or even future job prospects, depending on their career path. Make sure you have an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your side.
Our Firm Can Protect Your Rights – Call Us Today
Without a dedicated and capable legal team by your side, fighting underage DUI charges can become an overwhelming experience. Don't put your or your child's future at stake! Our Southern California DUI defense attorneys have represented close to 3,000 clients and can use aggressive strategies that are formed specifically to help you achieve the most favorable outcome for your case.
Contact Gibbons & Gibbons today for your free case evaluation by calling (562) 372-6366.
Years of Experience
We have more than 60 years of combined experience.
Our attorneys have extensive experience in the courtroom.
Reputation for Excellence
We are respected by clients and peers, including people in the judicial system.
Our attorneys fight relentlessly for every client's best interest.
Domestic Violence Dismissed
Firearm Possession Felony Not Guilty
Assault With a Firearm Time Served Offer
Domestic Violence Dismissed
Domestic Violence Not Guilty
Felony Domestic Violence Dismissed
First and Second Degree Murder Not Guilty
Drug Possession Case Dismissed
Possession of a Firearm Dismissed
Felony Offense Charge Reduced