Possession Charges in California
We can fight for you - Call (562) 275-7101!
Drug crimes carry serious weight in California and crimes of possession
are no different. California has its own system for classifying and penalizing
such a crime and without a strong defense behind you, it can be difficult
to fight your charges.
Our team at Gibbons, Gibbons, Gibbons, A Law Corporation has been in the
defense field for over 60 years. We understand the hard work it takes
to fight for your best outcome and we are committed to giving it 100 percent.
A Southern California drug crimes attorney will provide you with the personalized
counsel your case needs, from start to finish.
California's Possession Laws
In California, there are two overarching categories for possession crimes
– simple possession and possession with the intent to sell. The
compounds used to make drugs, as well as the drugs themselves, are all
considered illegal substances. After determining the category of your
crime, the court will then give it a classification – an infraction,
misdemeanor, or a felony.
Because there are varying groups of drugs based on their potential for
abuse, possession charges can all be penalized differently.
Penalties for drug possession can include:
- Imprisonment for 1 year up to 3 years
- Fines up to $1000
- Community service hours
Other factors will also be considered, such as if the defendant was under
18 years of age and if the crime was committed on school property.
Get Aggressive Defense with a Southern California Drug Crimes Attorney
For such a serious crime, it is important to have an attorney in your corner
who knows what they are doing. Our firm has an outstanding track record
in the community and is confident in our representation.
The longer you wait to pursue legal action can often make it more difficult
to fight for a positive outcome.
Contact our firm today and begin your free consultation!