Underage DUI Lawyer in Southern California
Arrested for underage drinking? Call Us at (562) 275-7101
It is illegal in California for a person under the age of 21 to drink or
purchase alcohol. Zero Tolerance Laws have also been enacted to deter
minors from driving after drinking alcohol. These laws can be much harsher
than the laws for adults. A minor's blood-alcohol content only needs
to measure above .01% to result in DUI charges. Individuals can hit this
fairly quickly, as drinking only one glass of wine or one can of beer
could pass the .01% mark, and may measure up to .05% in blood alcohol
Penalties for Underage DUI
In addition to DUI, there may be other charges related to the underage
drinking, such as child endangerment law violations for enabling alcohol
consumption for other minors.
Other penalties for the first offense of an underage DUI include:
- Jail sentence (4 days to 6 months)
- Fines that range between $1400-$2600
- License suspension (30 days to 10 months)
- Misdemeanor charge for possession of fake ID (if it was used to purchase alcohol)
- Other traffic violation charges
- Raised insurance premiums
If a driver under the age of 18 has been convicted of a DUI, then their
license may be suspended for 1 year, or until their 18
th birthday. A first DUI offense is typically considered a misdemeanor, which
means the driver could face further penalties from their school or university
or even future job prospects, depending on their career path.
Our firm can protect your rights. Call us today!
Without a dedicated and capable legal team by your side, fighting underage
DUI charges can become an overwhelming experience. Don't put your
or your child's future at stake! Our Southern California DUI defense
represented close to 3,000 clients and can use aggressive strategies that are formed specifically to help
you achieve the most favorable outcome for your case.
Contact Gibbons, Gibbons & Gibbons today for your free case evaluation!